Current Global Buddies Program Host Students (remaining pictures to be added shortly)
Dakshata Arora

My name Is Dakshata and I am a fourth-year student studying Biological Data Sciences with a genomics option. I’m from Lake Oswego, Oregon. I was born and raised in India and moved to the US when I was in high school. I’m fluent in Hindi and English. I became a part of GBP to help international students because adjusting to a new country, culture, and college system is tough and I want to help make it easier with my personal experience. In my free time, I like to watch movies,  hang out with my friends and explore Oregon.

 

Binh Nam Nguyen 

My name is Binh Nam, but I just go by Nam. I am a fourth-year student majoring in Ethnic Studies and Human Development and Family Sciences with a focus on human services. I was born and raised in Portland, Oregon, and I can speak Vietnamese fluently with a little bit of conversational Spanish. This will be my third year with the Global Buddies Program. I’ve enjoyed being able to connect with international students and help them as they transition and adjust, but also learning from them about their experiences and culture.

 

Bain Zhang 

My name is Bain, and I’m pursuing a double degree in Natural Resources/Sustainability with an option in Fish and Wildlife Conservation. I’ve been part of the Global Buddies Program for the past three years. I love hiking and dodgeball. I’ve been in the dodgeball club for nearly three years. When I’m free, I love hiking with my friends at McDonald-Dunn Forest.

 

Giulia Wood

Hi! My name is Giulia and I‘m from the San Juan Islands in Washington so I love spending time around the ocean. I’m currently a senior double majoring in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Environmental Sciences and I’m working on my Honors Thesis which focuses on Arctic krill. Outside of school, I love trying new recipes, spending an afternoon reading in a hammock, painting, and dancing. I recently got back from studying at the University of Nottingham in the UK and am excited to be a mentor this year to meet new international students and help them get settled at OSU.

 

Rebekah Rocak

My name is Rebekah, but feel free to call me Bekah. I am a fourth-year student majoring in Ethnic Studies and I grew up in Dallas, Oregon. I have just returned from a year of studying in Seoul, South Korea, so I joined GBP with the hopes of helping international students adjust to their new life abroad! I love learning new languages and about other cultures, so I am excited to connect and meet with you!

 

Katarina Bosworth

My name is Katarina and I’m from Portland, Oregon. I am a fourth-year student studying Spanish, political science, and history. I’m involved with Dodgeball Club, intramural sports, the History Students’ Association, and I work in the Writing Center at OSU. I chose to be a part of GBP because I have studied abroad, so I understand what it is like to navigate a new culture and be apart from your friends and family for an extended period of time. When I studied abroad, the student service volunteers in my program positively impacted my acclamation to the community. I look forward to helping new students at OSU adapt and have an enjoyable abroad experience as well. 

 

In Ha Choi

My name is In Ha Choi from South Korea. You can call me Inha. I'm a sophomore majoring in biology. I decided to study marine biology because I love sea otters and other marine mammals. I also like to take pictures and play guitar. After I came to OSU, I received lots of help from my peer buddy and mentor professors from various programs, so I want to give back to the international student community and share my experiences.

 

Phoebe Naughton

My name is Phoebe and I am a Junior majoring in Environmental Science and minoring in Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences. I am originally from Southern California but have also lived in the Middle East, New York, and now Oregon. I love to travel! I have been to 15 countries, and hope to continue seeing more of the world. When I am not involved in schoolwork, I enjoy being outdoors, playing sports, and thrifting. I am so excited to meet the incoming international students and help make their experiences at OSU memorable and enjoyable.

 

Rabecka Moffit

My name is Rabecka. I am a junior level Electrical Engineering student with a minor in Spanish. I spent my sophomore year abroad in Barcelona and I loved all the experiences that I was able to have. I wish that there would have been a similar program for me in Spain because it would have made me feel more welcome and more prepared for my study abroad experience. I am excited to help create this opportunity and welcome others. During my free time, I love to bake and try out new recipes. I also like to spend time enjoying all the beautiful nature that Oregon has to offer with hikes, biking, swimming, and roller skating. 

 

Jeremy Udarbe

My name is Jeremy. I am a student majoring in Computer Science applied in graphics and minoring in German. I was born in Portland, Oregon, but both my parents are from the Philippines. I have studied abroad in Germany from spring to the end of summer 2022 which has given me an opportunity to expand my cultural understanding abroad. I was enrolled in a buddy program at my host university, Hochschule der Medien, who has helped me immensely in adjusting to the new cultural environment and getting out of my comfort zone during "travel anxiety". In this program, I hope to help those studying in the states gain that same experience I had in exploring a different country as well as learn about more cultures outside the US. 

 

Shannon Reever

My name is Shannon and I am a senior double majoring in  Environmental Science and Sustainability with concentrations in Education, Leadership, and Urban Forestry. I was born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area but currently reside in Austin, Texas. Transitioning into a new culture, new language, and new school can be difficult for most. As a host student buddy, I look forward to facilitating excitement and comfort throughout the adjustment of being a OSU student. Fun facts about me are that I enjoy long distance running, mountaineering, gardening, and global travel. I look forward to meeting you and providing guidance and sharing my experience for an awesome OSU experience ahead.  

 

Sindhura Karuturi

My name is Sindhura. I’m currently a sophomore in Food Science and technology. I’m from India and I came to OSU in 2021. Coming from a non-US background like most other international students, I completely understand how excited everyone is but also really shy to take initiative to start a conversation. I was afraid to start a conversation but was super grateful to people who took the courage to talk to me first. I want to become that person to speak and help new students this time. I’m super excited to help new international students settle down and give advice about anything that I can. 

 

Giulia Wood

My name is Giulia and I‘m from the San Juan Islands in Washington State. I am double majoring in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Environmental Sciences and am working on my Honors Thesis which focuses on Arctic krill. I am excited to be part of the GBP again this year to meet new international students and help them get settled here at OSU! Outside of school, I love trying new recipes, spending an afternoon reading in a hammock, painting, and dancing.

 

Zoe Shulevitz

My name is Zoe and I'm a fourth-year student studying economics and Japanese language at OSU. Back in 2019, I was able to participate in this program and had a really fun time interacting with people from different countries and cultures and hearing about their culture-shocks related to the US. I am looking forward to participating this year as well!

 

Ramish Mohammad

My name is Ramish and I’m originally from Pakistan. I’m a third-year Computer Science student. I love cars, going on long drives, and chilling with friends in my off time. You will usually find me at the gym or playing soccer. I am also a part of OSU's esports team and can speak three different languages. I wanted to be a part of this incredible team because I was also once in your shoes, so I can understand what you might go through and recommend some friendly advice regarding anything you are unsure about. 

 

Ighoyivwi Onakpoma 

My name is Ighoyivwi, but I prefer being called Igho (E-gho) as it is easier to pronounce. I am from Nigeria (Western part of Africa) and a graduate student of Wood Science in the College of Forestry. I love playing and watching soccer. I like meeting new people and being a global buddy helps to fill this gap where I can also help international students in transitioning and settling in Corvallis.

 

Mary Nansikombi

My name is Mary and I am originally from Uganda. I am pursuing computer science at OSU. As an international student, I faced many questions when I just arrived at OSU. My GBP buddy helped me during the hardest transition. I joined the GBP and would like to help new students from what I’ve learned. 

 

Belén Ojeda

My name is Belén Ojeda, I use she/her pronouns. I'm from Chile and I will be starting my third term at OSU in the Fall of 2022. I am in the Interdisciplinary Studies Master's program (MAIS) and my fields of emphasis are College Student Services Administration, Education, and Sociology. I'm so excited to be joining the Global Buddies Program because I love to meet new people, travel, and share life experiences. 

 

Alessandro Giuliani

My name is Alessandro, but most people call me Alex. I’ve lived in Dallas, Oregon most of my life.  I’m studying Electrical and Computer Engineering with a minor in Computer Science at OSU. I will be a sophomore this fall. I’m looking forward to meeting the new international students and helping them as they learn their way around Oregon State and all that it has to offer. I enjoy reading, watching movies, listening to new music, and riding my dirtbike when I have the time.

 

Emma Legault

My name is Emma and I'm from Portland, Oregon. I'll be a sophomore majoring in Ecological Engineering and minoring in French this fall! French culture has always interested me, even before I came here to OSU. After 6 weeks in France this past summer studying at a French university, I continued to fall in love with cultures that weren't my own. I joined this program to continue learning from students with different cultures, as I did in France, and to help them navigate the college system here at Oregon State. 

 

OIS Program Assistant

Keita Yaji

Hi everyone! My name is Keita Yaji. I am currently majoring in Management at the College of Business. I was born and raised in Tokyo, Japan. As a child, I moved to Bangkok, Thailand, because of my father's work, and I stayed there for a few years. After graduating from high school in Japan, I came to the U.S. and enrolled in North Seattle College. I spent 10 months in Seattle and then went back to Japan due to the pandemic. Taking online classes from Japan, I graduated from NSC this fall and transferred to OSU! I am passionate about supporting international students from diverse backgrounds. As I was helped by many people, I would like to help them succeed here at OSU. In my free time, I like watching movies, watching sports, listening to music, and walking around the campus. I am looking forward to working with you all!